Loyola University New Orleans 2020-2021 Bulletin

The University Bulletin is an annual publication of Loyola University New Orleans that itemizes academic polices, academic program requirements, and a catalog of course descriptions. Updates to academic regulations, policies, and procedures take place on an annual basis and cover these items for all students attending Loyola University.


About Loyola

Loyola University New Orleans, a Jesuit and Catholic institution of higher education, welcomes students of diverse backgrounds and prepares them to lead meaningful lives with and for others; to pursue truth, wisdom, and virtue; and to work for a more just world. Inspired by Ignatius of Loyola's vision of finding God in all things, the university is grounded in the liberal arts and sciences, while also offering opportunities for professional studies in undergraduate and selected graduate programs. Through teaching, research, creative activities, and service, the faculty, in cooperation with the staff, strives to educate the whole student and to benefit the larger community.

University Mission Statement
Approved by Loyola University New Orleans Board of Trustees
March 5, 2004

Loyola University New Orleans is a Jesuit university founded by the Society of Jesus and chartered on April 15, 1912, with ownership vested in the Loyola community of Jesuit Fathers. The university was authorized to grant degrees by The General Assembly of Louisiana for the year 1912. Loyola University New Orleans is a member of the Association of Jesuit Colleges & Universities (AJCU). 

All educational programs and activities are open to all qualified persons without regard to age, color, disability, national origin, race, religion, sex/gender, or sexual orientation in the true spirit of Christian love and charity and the Jesuit commitment to social justice.

Loyola is committed to the task of equipping its students to know themselves, their world, and their potential. It operates from the belief that to perform that function properly, it must strive to be an academic community composed in a manner fitting today’s pluralistic society and ecumenical age. Students of all beliefs and faiths are welcome at Loyola.

Back to Top



Loyola University New Orleans is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) to award baccalaureate, masters, and doctorate degrees. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097 or call 404-679-4500 for questions about the accreditation of Loyola University New Orleans.

Back to Top


Bulletin Directory

The University Bulletin is an important document that details program requirements and academic regulations. Students are responsible for the degree program requirements listed in the bulletin at their time of matriculation. This bulletin is the official bulletin for students who begin their study in May 2020, June 2020,  July 2020, August 2020, October 2020, January 2021 and March 2021. For previous entry years see the Bulletin Archive. The university reserves the right to make changes as required in course offerings, curricula, academic policies, and other rules and regulations affecting students.

Back to Top


University Administrators

President's Office
President Tania Tetlow, J.D.
Chief of Staff Lesli Harris, L.L.M.
Vice President for Equity & Inclusion Kedrick Perry, Ed.D.
Vice President of Mission & Identity Fr. Justin Daffron, S.J.
Vice President of Institutional Advancement Chris Wiseman, Ph.D.
Board of Trustees 2020-2021 Full List of Officers, Members, & Trustee Emeriti


Academic Affairs
Provost & Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs Tanuja Singh, D.B.A.            
College of Arts & Sciences - Dean Maria Calzada, Ph.D.
College of Business - Dean Michael Capella, Ph.D.
College of Law - Dean Madeleine M. Landrieu, J.D.
College of Music & Media - Dean Kern Maas, M.F.A.
College of Nursing & Health - Dean Laurie Ann Ferguson, D.N.P.
University Library - Dean Deborah Poole, M.L.I.S.
Vice Provost Carol Ann MacGregor, Ph.D.
Associate Vice Provost Erin Dupuis, Ph.D.


Enrollment Management & Student Affairs
Senior Vice President Sarah Kelly, Ph.D.
Chief Communications Officer Rachel Hoorman, M.L.I.S.
Chief Enrollment Officer Nathan Ament, M.A.
Chief Student Affairs Officer Alicia Bourque, Ph.D.


Finance & Administration
Chief Operating Officer & Senior Vice President of Finance Carol Markowitz, M.B.A.


Back to Top